negative wh- questions

Need someone to talk about English grammar? Here is a forum for you!
dany

negative wh- questions

Postby dany » Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:05 pm

Hi there,
I need some help! Can we say "What doesn't she like doing?" as well as we can say "What does she like doing?".
Grammatically it should be correct, but, I don't know, it sounds a little weird to me...

What do you think?
Thanks so much for your help,

Daniela from Italy

nikita
Site Admin

Re: Negative Wh- questions

Postby nikita » Mon Jun 19, 2006 9:33 pm

Hello,

This question is perfectly alright. Trust me. :)

But if you need a more formal sentence without contracted forms like “doesn’t”, then the full sentence will look like this:

“What does she not like doing?”

Good luck!

Nikita

dany

Re: Negative Wh- questions

Postby dany » Wed Jun 21, 2006 12:05 am

Thank you very much for your help Nikita! I'm a teacher of English as a foreign language, but sometimes this language makes me wonder!! I'd like to have a better knowledge of it, but, you know, it'll never be like I was a native speaker! Anyway, I'll do my best :D

nikita
Site Admin

Re: not being a non-existent educated native speaker

Postby nikita » Wed Jun 21, 2006 4:49 pm

Hello, Dany

Recently I attended a presentation on the current tendencies in the English language, where I saw the following phrase:

English is a muddle.

And guess who said it? Michael Swan. I mean the Michael Swan. The one who has written loads of book about how English language works.

You should not worry about being not a native speaker. I don’t, for example. The current trend is that now more people use English for business who learnt it as a second language than the native speakers. We are different, so what?

For example, right now I’m reading “The Lexical Approach” by Michael Lewis. Here is what he writes about it: